Meet the Governors

Mike Newbigin – Co-Chair of Governors and Chair of Functional Committee
Governor Type: Local Authority Governor. Elected by Full Governing Body. Term of Office: 12 September 2016 to 11 September 2027

Mike was elected Co-Chair of the Governing Body in September 2023. Over the last 24 years, Mike has worked as a volunteer in the non-profit sector, primarily with Charities in London, mainly in finance reporting, Gift Aid and Investment Management. Previously he worked in the commercial sector, having qualified as a Chartered Accountant in 1980 with both audit and accountancy experience in a large range of different sized businesses and charities. He has special responsibility for finance on the Board.

Liz Griffiss-White – Co-Chair of Governors
Governor Type: Co-opted Governor. Elected by Full Governing Body. Term of Office: 5 June 2023 to 4 June 2027

Liz was elected Co-Chair of the Governing Body in September 2023. She has a background of working in the NHS, in early career as a Medical Secretary at a General Hospital and later as a Practice Manager in Primary Care. In between these roles, she worked out of the Research Director’s Office of a Government Research Council Scientific Institute, with executive responsibility for administration, including governance, and served on the Senior Executive Board of the Institute. She also has experience working in the University Sector in Research & Development administration, and competence in compliance, risk assessment, HR and Health & Safety. Liz is LINK-Governor with special responsibility for Disadvantaged Learners (Pupil Premium), and children with Special Educational Needs & Disabilities. She is also the Whistleblowing Governor.

Ann Mackie – Vice Chair of Governors Governor Type: Co-opted Governor. Elected by Full Governing Body.
Current Term of Office: 5 December 2021 to 4 December 2025

Ann was re-elected Vice Chair of the Governing Body in September 2023. Ann has worked in the civil service, in the Ministry of Defence for over 30 years, originally in London, but now in Bristol for Defence Equipment and Support. Most of her career has been as a commercial officer, sourcing and contracting for equipment and services to support the Armed Forces. Her current role focuses on the recruitment of individuals and supporting and developing their careers as commercial officers.

Ian Stone – Vice Chair of the Functional Committee
Governor Type: Parent Governor. Elected by parents.
Term of Office: 23 October 2017 to 22 October 2025

Ian served as Chair of Governors for 8 years before stepping down from that role in September 2023. He was re-elected as Vice Chair of the Functional Committee in October 2023. Ian’s two children attended King’s Lodge; they have now moved on to Abbeyfield Secondary School. He currently works in IT Project Management for Nationwide Building Society after 10 years of working in Whitehall for HM Civil Service in a number of different departments delivering multi-million pound national highway improvements, urban regeneration schemes across England and improving partnership working across Whitehall. Ian has special responsibility as Safeguarding Lead on the Board.

Stephen Douglas
Governor Type: Co-opted Governor. Elected by Full Governing Body.
Term of Office: 12 September 2022 – 11 September 2026

Stephen is in his second year as a Governor and has a child who attends King’s Lodge. He is in his eleventh year of teaching as a qualified secondary mathematics teacher. He spent the first 5 years of his career teaching at Abbeyfield School in Chippenham, and is now in his sixth year of teaching at St Mary’s School in Calne. He is passionate about the teaching of Mathematics and immediately took on the role of overseeing Mathematics at King’s Lodge School in his role as Governor. As a teacher he is passionate about seeing children be successful in all aspects of their learning and that all children enjoy coming to school every day. Stephen is also Governor with special responsibility for Early Years and advising on Cyber-Security.

Bryan Slade Governor Type: Parent Governor. Elected by parents.
Current Term of Office: 23 November 2000 to 22 November 2024

Bryan has a daughter who attends King’s Lodge School and a teenage son. He lives locally and is committed to the local community. He has run a business in Chippenham for about 10 years delivering compliance training for all types of industries. Bryan chose to be a Governor as he is passionate about the health, safety and welfare of all teachers, support staff, pupils and visitors to the school. He is dedicated to keeping the school and those who use it informed and up to date with relevant H&S legislation. Bryan has special responsibility for Health and Safety on the Board.

Declaration of Business Interests: Bryan Slade is a governor at Abbeyfield School and provides First Aid courses and Health and Safety courses to us at King’s Lodge School.

Matt Slee
Governor Type: Co-opted Governor. Elected by Full Governing Body. Current Term of Office: 30 November 2022 to 29 November 2026

Matt works for the Standards and Testing Agency at the Department for Education, the agency responsible for creating National Curriculum Assessments for primary schools. His responsibilities include overseeing the moderation of Key Stage 2 writing, and investigating opportunities for digital transformation, including monitoring the use of Artificial Intelligence. Prior to this, he was a primary school teacher, with experience in teaching at both KS1 and KS2. Matt has special responsibility for advising the Board on interpreting school data.

Jazmyn Parsons  
Governor Type: Parent Governor.  Elected by Full Governing Body (no nominations).  
Term of Office: 20 November 2023 to 19 November 2027

Jazmyn has two children who attend King’s Lodge School.  Jazmyn is deeply connected to the community as the Bank Manager at NatWest in Chippenham and brings over 14 years of banking experience to her role. Her skills include people management, critical thinking and change ready.  She has an interest in the School’s values and in supporting wellbeing to create a positive and thriving educational experience.  

Kim Spencer
Governor Type: Staff (Headteacher). Ex officio appointment. Term of Office: 1 January 2016 –

Ally Howell
Governor Type: Staff. Elected by staff.
Term of Office: November 2023 to November 2027

Louise Romain
Governor Type: Associate Governor. Elected by Full Governing Body.
Term of Office: 15 October 2021 to 14 October 2025